Fall favourites – New York

This is how it is: of all the designers across the globe, New York possesses designers who create practical clothing and truly have an array of women on their mind. Furthermore, New York contains the most variety of designers of any major fashion capital. For those looking to stay on top of the trend, look no further than Marc Jacobs and Donna Karan. If you’re in need of hot new party gear, talk to Alexander Wang and Hervé Léger’s Max & Lubov Azria. Rodarte and Calvin Klein can be of some assistance in channeling the latest ‘futuristic’ vibe in your wardrobe. For working women, who choose to look fabulously chic from day to night, Michael Kors and Derek Lam are the men to see. Elegant evening wear is usually one of the highlights of any collection, and Oscar de la Renta delivered for women who want it. Lastly, if you want a little bit of everything and more, Jack and Lazaro of Proenza Schouler might be on Twitter ;). I ♥ NEW YORK. I’m going to do this for each major fashion week, but let’s begin where it always starts. The 10 best collections from NYFW (New York Fashion Week):

marcj

dk

awang

herveleger

rodarte

ck1

mk

dereklam

odlr

proenza

photos: style.com

6 Comments

Filed under FASHION SPONTANEITY, RUNWAY

6 responses to “Fall favourites – New York

  1. Thanks for sharing those with us. They were great. I hope you’ve been doing well.

    Oh yeah. I just did a post about when I plan to return to blogging. I hope you’ll check it out. Thanks.

  2. Beautiful choices and collages! Loving Kors and Rodarte so!

    xoxox,
    CC

  3. What’s so funny about new York and this season in general is, I’ve only looked at a few pieces in each collection and just glanced at the rest. I seriously have to go back and look into everything. But, all the collection above were some of the best. I truly agree with what you said about New York’s diversity and designers being able to create chic looks for working women. I live in NY and am seriously dying for France, but I think I should start apprecaite NY a little more afdter this post.

    I’m so glad that Max Azria didn’t do typical Herve Leger this season. Very Balmain, so I guess Max finally realized how much the Balmain dresses were selling to higher end clients. I haven’t looked a Proenza Schouler’s Fall 09 yet, but I think I’m in love from what I see from here. Tough and edge but still clean. I don;t want to like the Marc Jacob’s collection, but I just can’t say no. The styling might be tasteless and inspiring people in the wrong way, but each piece itself was just genius. The Rodarte show is leaving me torn. I saw one of their Fall 2008 dresses in person, and it was just magical. So I think I’m just still stuck at the point, but I don’t think this collection will look good off of the runway. Resse Witherspoon wore one of those dresses already and it seriously looks like an arts and craft project. 😦

    Great Post, as usual! 🙂

  4. Great pics! I especially love the colorful Marc Jacobs collection and the Rodarte miniskirts.

  5. Nonsense Of The Truth

    Oh, they’re great! Love it!

  6. rodarte cleaned up nicely.
    job well done [K]

    S.W

Leave a Reply

