Isabeli X Numéro Tokyo

Easy, breezy, beautiful, Numéro Tokyo cover girl. Those words clearly resonate with this May 2009 (#26) issue of Numéro Tokyo featuring 26 year-old Brazilian bombshell, Isabeli Fontana. Don’t you love her name? It’s just as sexy as she is. Onto more relevant issues (no pun intended); this cover is absolutely sensational.

The styling for the cover is quite exceptional. Keeping on trend for the season, the stylist(s) …went with one of several “bold shoulder” looks from the Dolce & Gabbana S/S09 collection, along with a pair of silk pyjama-inspired shorts from the same collection. As soon as I saw the cover, I had a feeling they just re-created a softer version of Isabeli from the runway show since the looks appear quite similar. But, turns out they used both top and shorts worn by Daul Kim (see below). There was a lot going on in terms of strong looks and excessive styling in the runway show. The idea of toning it down for an easy Spring/Summer cover was a fantastic idea. From the soft hair, fresh makeup, single bow with broach, and uber light coral/beige background, this cover says May 2009 all over it.

dolcexisabeli1

I must admit that I wasn’t a fan of the Dolce & Gabbana S/S09 collection at first, but it slowly grew on me. After seeing pieces from the collection used in a number of editorials/covers, and seeing different ways it could be styled (click here), I was sold. Perhaps it was Dello Russo wearing the red dress with the bold shoulder during Fashion Week that did it for me (see below).

delloxdolce

photos: style.com, JAK&JIL BLOG

6 Comments

Filed under COVERS, RUNWAY

6 responses to “Isabeli X Numéro Tokyo

  1. I love it. She reminds me of Helena Christensen mixed with Giselle.

  2. I love the mickey/minnie mouse type of sleeves!

  3. Fabulous! The more I see that D&G top, the more I love it!

    xoxox,
    CC

  4. I take every single photo on my blog. I shoot through the glass of each display. So of course they let me! They have no choice, it’s out for everyone to see! haha

    Givenchy is so amazing, I wasn’t too impressed with the way Lanvin was displayed after seeing how Bergdorf did it better [but still missing the chance to shoot the windows :(]

    Thanks the comments. I hope to see you around.

    I love the minnie mouse sleeves from D&G this season. They’ve slowly started to show them in their windows but ran back after one attempt to more “consumer friendly” pieces.

  5. I love that cover. She’s got a fantastic name. Plus she’s very hot!

  6. I honestly didn’t like Isabeli for a while. There was always something about her that read “snob”. Nut just like the D&G collection grew on you, she’s growing on me now. Your compelty right when you said it all changed after seing it being styled different. I remember days after the show, I kept wondering this is going to be horrible for sales. But, now I can honestly say I want every peice.

Leave a Reply

